Dox records






Electric Monkey Sessions

New Cool Collective

Release: 14/11/2014

Full Length

Listen to Electric Monkey Sessions

Buy Electric Monkey Sessions

Electric Monkey Sessions refers to the sound studio in Amsterdam North where the recordings were made. A new studio for the band, and a new style of recording, which means a whole new vibe compared to previous albums. New Cool Collective has drawn inspiration from Senegalese Orchestra Baobab, as well as psychedelic cumbia, Cape Town, Italian cinema and many major jazz heroes.

Electric Monkey Sessions features two unique tracks recorded at a beach-side studio in Dakar with local musicians the band met on one of their many international adventures.


released November 14, 2014

Benjamin Herman - Saxophones, Flute
David Rockefeller - Trumpet, Trombone, Flugelhorn
Rory Ronde - Guitar (tracks 1 - 8)
Willem Friede - Keyboard Instruments
Leslie López - Electric Bass, Baby Bass
Joost Kroon - Drums, Timbales
Jos de Haas - Timbales, Bongo, Percussion
Frank van Dok - Congas

Anton Goudsmit - Guitar (track 9)

Special Guests on tracks 9 & 10
Baba M'Bengue - Vocals
Oumar Sow - Guitar
Mamadou Conare - Guitar
Alioune Seck - Percussion

All compositions by New Cool Collective
(Van Dok, Friede, De Haas, Herman, Kroon, López, Rockefeller and Ronde)

Sa Jikko Jii (Mamadou Conare, Omar Pen, arr. Oumar Sow)
Casa Di Mansa (Oumar Sow, Baba M'Bengue, arr. Mamadou Conare)

Like quality music?


Dox Amsterdam is

Dox Live

Dox Records

Dox Publishing

Dox Concepts


Connect on